I have always been one of those people who likes to make lists and feel a sense of accomplishment. Back in the days when I owned my business I would spend reasonable amounts of time writing down all of the things that I needed to do, that if I completed these tasks I would be successful. As you can imagine, I never actually accomplished most of what was on my list and consequently, with about 100 other things, sabotaged my company.

Do you keep the list full as a way of limiting your own ability to complete the bigger goals in your life? Are you really disconnecting from the bigger goal of engaging in your own life because of your need to accomplish?

If you answered ‘yes’ to either of the above questions, then the next question might be, do you have too much on your plate? Just like the waistline in this country has grown over the past decades as the result of portion size and plate size, our need to accomplish has grown with the size of that same plate. The first place to start in figuring out if you are truly engaged in your own life is by answering the following questions:

  1. What is on your plate?
  2. Does everything that is on your plate need to be there?
  3. Does what is on your plate serve a bigger purpose in your life?

The answers to these questions may surprise you and you may not like the answers, but making a shift starts with the hard questions.

