I have been seeing a chiropractor for a little over a year. For those of you who know me, you know that I love alternative medicine and you also know that chiropractic was the one form of alternative medicine that freaked me out. However, last June I hit a breaking point with my sinuses. I was having headaches every day, and taking over-the-counter sinus medication that I know made me feel better short-term but not in the long-term. On a recommendation that came from a friend I went to a chiropractor. He did lots of consultation and made me feel at ease, for the most part. He was able to explain what he would be doing and even why I was feeling bad in a way that made sense to me.

Fast forward a year and I feel great. My sinus headaches are very few and far between and I can typically relate it back to something else. Move forward two steps!

The last couple of weeks I have not been feeling 100% so I asked my chiropractor about it and he mentioned that it was probably related to stress, either physical or emotional. Even our bodies revert back to the most comfortable phase. My follow up question was; “Could running or pilates be making me feel bad?” He determined that was probably not the reason (he giggled even, knowing he would never tell me not to exercise), those are things that are good for my body and I am not pushing myself beyond the bounds of what I can physically do. So what is it? I have been wracking my brain. I am happy, life is good, would there be some emotional stress that I am unaware of that is challenging me deep inside?

After a conversation with a friend, who I really trust, I have determined that there is some emotional stress. I think we all forget how the body, mind, spirit connection works, I do at least. If something is out of whack well then, it can show up in the body and for me it is showing up in my sinuses. It is a cycle and I know it. So the question is how do we acknowledge what is manifesting itself and jump off of the merry-go-round? My habit would be sinus meds, food (cause that always makes me feel better) and probably a good glass of wine (cause that makes us all feel better). Thus the cycle continues.

Here is my cycle:

 

What does your cycle look like?

I talk about the discomfort of change and this is why. What is not shown on this cycle is the magnetic pull that exists because while it does not make us feel good, it is what we know. If you step out of the circle where do you go? It can feel like we just fall off.

What does your healthy cycle look like? You get to create it. Determine it. Own the current cycle, but create the new one so that you have something positive to step to, a healthy cycle that allows you to have all of your successes.

Here is my new cycle and I think my headache just went away.

 

