Ray (my husband) ruptured his Achilles three weeks ago. The toughest thing about change for me is when I don’t plan on it. Okay I know this is a naive statement to begin with, how often is change a planned adventure that we put into our schedules? Not that often I admit, but this sort of change is definitely easier for me. I can set goals, monitor progress, and celebrate successes. This works for me. 

We have tried to approach this time the same way we do other things. First, we did not panic. We did some research online, tested the ankle, confirmed the fact that the tendon that connects his calf with his heel was no longer connected (click this link for the visual http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AmDi08rlR3I ), and quietly said goodbye to our plans for fourth quarter (further research confirmed the lengthy recovery process). 

Next, we called a doctor to confirm what we thought we knew and waited. In the meantime we adjusted the routine. Ray would not be going to work for a while, and my job had just been cut significantly. The timing of Ray needing full time care could not have been more perfect.  The doctor confirmed that surgery would be his best option, so we scheduled it, and waited some more. This part of waiting had been the most difficult, because he could not walk and was uncomfortable but was not recovering, that would only begin after the surgery. 

We got through the surgery and are trying to approach this change, while not planned, the same way we approach other changes by:

  1. Setting goals
  2. Monitoring progress
  3. Celebrating successes

Rather than being for the month or even the week, we have adjusted our expectations around each of these items and set goals, monitored progress and celebrated successes day by day.

Change comes whether we are ready or not. Life happens whether we are ready or not but if you have some processes in place, you can adapt. That is something you can plan on.

