Studies show that 75-80% of change efforts fail in organizations and I would venture to say that the numbers are probably pretty similar or even higher for life. In a recent article by Marshall Goldsmith titled The Happiness Paradox he discusses that as much as we want happiness and meaning in our lives our default response is not to experience happiness or meaning and our default is to experience inertia. In other words our everyday response is to continue what we are already doing. The author further argues that the best way to break the cycle of inertia is discipline.

For me the discipline comes down to doing what I say I will do. This is what this experiment is all about; determining my level of commitment and discipline to myself and hopefully at the end, figuring out how to create some lasting change.

