Letting go can be an important part of change. To really change you have to be able to let go of the past as well as pre-conceived notions about the way things are “supposed” to be.

This morning I needed to print a new copy of my list for the next three days (three days fits on one page) and I removed a couple of the items. I decided when I started this month that I would give myself permission to remove items that did not work. For those of you who know me, you know that this is a big step because I am such a fan of completion, the idea of taking things off the list before the end of the month is a big deal.

This experiment is allowing me to evaluate what is working and what is not providing value to my days, other than added stress. I determined that the items did not necessarily bring long term benefit or short term happiness and it was easy to let it go. This exercise helped me work on flexibility and honesty with myself.

When you embrace change, you have an opportunity to grow and while that can be uncomfortable, it can also be a great experience.

