I had to renew my driver’s license last week and because I renewed through the mail last time, I had to renew face-to-face this time around. Budget cuts have caused offices to close and processes to centralize so I assumed there would be a wait. Overall it runs as smooth as you would expect it to. However, as I look around at the customer, it is an interesting group with lots of challenges, little documentation and it seems to me, a list of problems that the driver’s license office would not be able to solve. I watched these folks, customers with their list of problems, become frustrated with the employees and their lack of ability to solve their unsolvable problems. People continue to show up, day after day, expecting their desired result to come to fruition.

It made me wonder, how often do I get upset when I expect someone else so solve my problems for me?  Do we do the same thing regarding change? Do we expect someone to come along and make the change we want to see possible? As we all know, this is not how life works. We are responsible for our own actions and it is up to each of us to make the change that we want to see in our own lives.

How do we do it? Where do we start?

  1. Carve out some time to think. This is so vital for emotional, physical and spiritual renewal.
  2. Ask yourself, “What do I want for my life? What does my perfect life look like?” The answer to this question becomes your vision.
  3.  Next, determine what goals need to be accomplished to get closer to your vision becoming a reality.
  4.  Now, create to do’s associated with each of these goals and create a plan to reaching those goals.

My visit to the driver’s license office was a little painful, but I knew it was time for renewal. Is it time for you to renew your commitment to the change you want to make and act on your vision and goals?

